After the creation of the Edward L. Ayers Center for Civil War & Emancipation Studies in December 2019, the American Civil War Museum is re-imagining its annual awards for scholarship about the Civil War. There will not be an award given in 2020, but please keep in touch for updates or contact us with any questions.

A wax seal being applied to a document.

Recognizing Civil War scholarship

Jefferson Davis Award Winners (1970–2018)

2018: Aaron Sheehan-Dean, The Calculus of Violence: How Americans Fought the Civil War

2017: Adam I. P. Smith, The Stormy Present: Conservatism and the Problem of Slavery in Northern Politics, 1846-1865

2016: Chandra M. Manning, Troubled Refuge: Struggling for Freedom in the Civil War

2015: Adam Rothman, Beyond Freedom’s Reach: A Kidnapping in the Twilight of Slavery

2014: William C. Davis, Crucible of Command: Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee: The War They Fought, The Peace They Forged

2013: Caroline E. Janney, Remembering the Civil War: Reunion and the Limits of Reconciliation

2012: William J. Cooper, We Have The War Upon Us: The Onset of the Civil War, November 1860-April 1861

2011: Paul Quigley, Shifting Grounds: Nationalism and the American South, 1848-1865

2010: George C. Rable, God’s Almost Chosen Peoples: A Religious History of the American Civil War

2009: Joan C. Waugh, U.S. Grant: American Hero, American Myth and Daniel E. Sutherland, A Savage Conflict: The Decisive Role of Guerrillas in the American Civil War

2008: Joseph T. Glatthaar, General Lee’s Army: From Victory to Collapse

2007: Elizabeth Brown Pryor, Reading the Man: A Portrait of Robert E. Lee Through His Private Letters

2006: Eric H. Walther, William Lowndes Yancey and the Coming of the Civil War

2005: Charles W. Sanders, While in the Hands of the Enemy: Military Prisons of the Civil War

2004: Richard Lowe, Walker’s Texas Division, C.S.A.

2003: G. Ward Hubbs, Guarding Greensboro: A Confederate Company in the Making of a Southern Community

2002: George C. Rable, Fredericksburg! Fredericksburg!

2001: William W. Freehling, The South vs. The South

2000: William J. Cooper, Jr., Jefferson Davis, American

1999: Joseph L. Harsh, Taken at the Flood: Robert E. Lee and Confederate Strategy in the Maryland Campaign of 1862

1998: J. Tracy Power, Lee’s Miserables: Life in the Army of Northern Virginia from the Wilderness to Appomattox

1997: James I. Robertson, Jr., Stonewall Jackson: The Man, The Soldier, The Legend

1996: Drew Gilpin Faust, Mothers of Invention

1995: David H. Donald, Lincoln

1994: William C. Davis, A Government of Our Own

1993: Robert M. Browning, Jr., From Cape Charles to Cape Fear

1992: T. Michael Parrish, Richard Taylor

1991: William C. Davis, Jefferson Davis

1990: Mary A. DeCredico, Patriotism for Profit

1989: George C. Rable, Civil Wars

1988: Thomas E. Schott, Alexander Stephens of Georgia

1987: William C. Harris, Williams Woods Holden

1986: Richard Beringer, et. al., Why the South Lost the Civil War

1985: Joseph T. Glatthaar, The March to the Sea and Beyond

1984: Walter L. Buenger, Secession and the Union in Texas

1983: Michael Wayne, The Reshaping of Plantation Society

1982: Bertram Wyatt-Brown, Southern Honor

1981: Michael B. Chesson, Richmond After the War, 1865-1900

1980: James Lee McDonough, Stones River: The Bloody Winter in Tennessee

1979: Stephen Z. Starr, The Union Cavalry in the Civil War

1978: Michael C. C. Adams, Our Masters the Rebels

1977: Joseph H. Parks, Joseph E. Brown of Georgia

1976: Herman Hattaway, General Stephen D. Lee

1975: Bell I. Wiley, Confederate Women

1974: William C. Davis, Breckinridge: Statesman, Soldier, Symbol

1973: Thomas L. Connelly and Archer Jones, The Politics of Command

1972: Thomas B. Alexander and Richard Beringer, The Anatomy of the Confederate Congress

1971: Thomas L. Connelly, Autumn of Glory

1970: Frank E. Vandiver, Their Tattered Flags

Founders Award Winners

2017-18: Salvatore G. Cilella, Jr., Correspondence of Major General Emory Upton

2016: M. Jane Johansson, Albert C. Ellithorpe, the First Indian Home Guards, and the Civil War on the Trans-Mississippi Frontier

2014: Graham T. Dozier, A Gunner in Lee’s Army: The Civil War Letters of Thomas Henry Carter

2012: Donald C. Pfanz, The Letters of General Richard S. Ewell: Stonewall’s Successor

2010: George Burkhardt, Double Duty in the Civil War: The Letters of Sailor and Soldier Edward W. Bacon

2008: Charles W. Mitchell, Maryland Voices of the Civil War

2006: Kimberly Harrison, A Maryland Bride in the Deep South: The Civil War Diary of Priscilla Bond

2004: Lynda L. Crist, et. al., The Papers of Jefferson Davis, vol. 11

2002: Michael B. Chesson and Leslie J. Roberts, Exile in Richmond

2000: Charles F. Bryan, Jr. and Nelson D. Lankford, Eye of the Storm: A Civil War Odyssey

1998: Ward W. Briggs, Jr., Soldier and Scholar: Basil Lanneau Gildersleeve and the Civil War

1996: Lynda L. Crist, et. al., The Papers of Jefferson Davis, vol. 8

1994: Ira Berlin, et. al., Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, series I, vol. II

1992: Russell Duncan, Blue-Eyed Child of Fortune: The Civil War Letters of Colonel Robert Gould Shaw

1990: Gary W. Gallagher, Fighting for the Confederacy: The Personal Recollections of General Edward Porter Alexander

1988: Carol Bleser, Secret and Sacred: The Diaries of James Henry Hammond and John Rozier, The Granite Farm Letters: The Civil War Correspondence of Edgeworth and Sallie Bird

1986: Richard Harwell and Philip N. Racine, The Fiery Trail: A Union Officer’s Account of Sherman’s Last Campaigns

1985: Ira Berlin, et. al., Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, series I, vol. I

1984: Michael P. Johnson and James L. Roark, No Chariot Let Down

1983: LeRoy P. Graf and Ralph W. Haskins, The Papers of Andrew Johnson, vol. VI

1982: John Y. Simon, The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, vols. IX and X

1981: Charles C. McLaughlin and Charles E. Beveridge, The Papers of Frederick Law Olmsted, vol. II

1980: James I. Robertson, Jr., An Index-Guide to the Southern Historical Society Papers

1979: David C. Roller and Robert W. Twyman, The Encyclopedia of Southern History

1978: William A. Frassanito, Antietam: The Photographic Legacy of America’s Bloodiest Day

1977: John W. Blassingame, Slave Testimony

1975: Ezra J. Warner and W. Buck Yearns, Biographical Register of the Confederate Congress

1974: John Hammond Moore, The Juhl Letters to the Charleston Courier

1972: Robert Ranson Myers, Children of Pride

1971: Haskell M. Monroe, The Papers of Jefferson Davis, vol. I.

1970: Warren Ripley, Artillery and Ammunition of the Civil War