Our People

Staff Leadership

Dr. Rob Havers, MA, FRSA, FRHistS
President and CEO
804-649-1861 ext. 140

Dr. Havers serves as President and CEO of the American Civil War Museum. Prior to coming to the Museum, he served as President/CEO of the Pritzker Military Museum & Library, President/CEO of the George C. Marshall Foundation, Director of the National Churchill Museum at Westminster College in Fulton, Missouri, and as a Senior Lecturer in War Studies at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. Havers graduated from Queen Mary University of London with a bachelor’s degree in history and politics; London School of Economics and Political Science with a master’s degree in later modern British history and Pembroke College, Cambridge with a Ph.D. He is a published author with several books and articles to his credit and is a widely respected lecturer on military history.

David Flood
Chief Financial Officer

David directs the budgetary process, day-to-day financial operations, and also human resources for the Museum.  Prior to joining ACWM, he was the Chief Financial Officer of Averhealth.  With over thirty years of national and international experience in financial strategy and leadership roles, David has led major corporate financial restructurings and established financial policies and controls. 

David holds an MBA from the Stern School of Business of New York University and a BS in Economics with a concentration in Finance from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Cara Sisson
Director of Development
804-649-1861 ext. 145

Cara directs development strategies, fundraising, and membership cultivation. She has over 25 years of experience in fundraising and development for a number of cultural and historical institutions including over fourteen years at The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, where she managed Major and Planned Giving Programs. Cara holds a bachelor’s degree from Hollins College and a master’s degree in Arts Administration from Virginia Tech.

Kelly Hancock
Director of Programs
804-649-1861 ext. 121

Kelly oversees programs and education at the American Civil War Museum for the general public, students, teachers, and senior adults, initiating the research, development, and implementation of programs for audiences both on- and off-site. A museum professional for over twenty years, she has a passion for uncovering history and bringing to light lesser-known stories from the past. Kelly is a graduate of Eastern New Mexico University.

Robert Hancock
Director of Collections and Senior Curator
804-649-1861 ext. 110

Robert oversees the Museum’s objects collection, library and archives, while supervising the Collections Department staff. As Senior Curator, Robert has been at the ACWM for decades of his professional career. He corresponds with researchers from all over the United States providing scholarship and presentations about the Museum’s extensive collections. Robert is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Jeniffer Maloney
Director of Marketing & Public Relations
804-649-1861 ext. 161

Jeniffer directs and implements promotional and public relations strategies for the Museum. She has more than two decades of experience in media and public relations for both nonprofit and for-profit organizations having served as Virginia Communications Director and Legislative Liaison for the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, and a lobbyist for the Virginia Realtors Association. She is also a former media strategies consultant and advisor to Virginia political candidates. Jeniffer is a graduate of Carson-Newman University.

Bob Sayre
Director of Visitor Engagement
804-649-1861 ext. 201

Bob oversees aspects of the Museum visitor’s experience at all three ACWM sites, including the retail component. He has many years of experience in leadership roles at several national and international retail apparel businesses. Bob holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics from Virginia Tech.

Gretchen Hemmer
Facilities Manager
804-649-1861 ext. 134

Gretchen manages the physical operations of ACWM buildings at all three sites and is responsible for mechanical systems and security. Prior to coming to the ACWM, she served as the Facilities Manager at the Historic Richmond Ballet. Gretchen is a graduate of St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

Board of Directors

Daniel G. Stoddard, Chair

Claude P. Foster, Vice Chair

Donald E. King, Foundation Board Chair

Walter S. Robertson III, Treasurer

Mario White, Secretary

J. Gordon Beittenmiller

Hans Binnendijk, Ph.D.

Audrey P. Davis

Sally Diggs Fletcher

George C. Freeman III

Hon. David C. Gompert

Bruce C. Gottwald, Sr.

Monroe E. Harris, Jr., D.D.S.

Rob Havers, Ph.D.

Richard S. Johnson

John L. Nau III

William R. Piper

Lewis F. Powell III

O. Randolph Rollins

Kenneth P. Ruscio, Ph.D.

Leigh Luter Schell

Julie Sherman

Roderick G. Stanley

Ruth Streeter