Teacher Advisory Council

Welcome to our Teacher Advisory Council Members for 2022-2023!

Please join us in welcoming our selected members of the 2022-2023 Teacher Advisory Council at the American Civil War Museum!

We searched for 12 teachers across the state of Virginia and 12 teachers from across the United States who were interested in shaping how fellow teachers & students engage with history. In addition, they will work with our Education Department at the ACWM to improve our offerings for teachers & students in the classroom and on-site at the museum!

The benefits these participants will receive through this collaboration are:

● Networking with fellow educators from around the state and the country.
● Opportunity to guide the development of offerings for all teachers and students utilizing both personal experience and professional best practices.
● Upon request, a certificate or letter acknowledging participation for potential recertification points.
● Complimentary educator membership to the American Civil War Museum for 1 year, and all associated benefits of Museum membership.

As we move forward into the new year, we will be sharing profiles of all of the members of both the Virginia Teacher Advisory Council and the National Teacher Advisory Council (2 Profiles Per Week, 1 State, 1 National).

We are so excited to begin this year with you all and look forward to collaborating to improve understanding and refine our resources for teachers and students.

Virginia Teacher Advisory Council

Hampton Kennedy
Blue Ridge School

Barry Davis
Bethel High School

Janice Fisher
C.D. Hylton High School

John Barker
Bellwood Elementary School

Judy Davis
Pearl Sample Elementary School

Alexis Glascock
Eureka Elementary School

Clay Hudson
Deep Run High School

Maura Keaney
Island Creek Elementary School

Jimmy Lincoln
Varina High School

Jessica Savage
Colonial Heights Middle School

Parthena Savides
Stonebridge School

Bradley Smith
West Potomac High School

National Teacher Advisory Council

Joseph Ludolph
Mattamuskeet School

Alan Prather
Kingwood Park High School

Ryan Sisak
Ranchview High School

Dr. Mary Soylu
Alabama State University

Mark Grown
Millbrook Magnet High School

Patrick D. Jacob
Arkansas National Guard, Arkansas Military Academy

Sara Owens
Greenfield Central Junior High School

Jason Rojee
Hopedale Jr-Sr High School

Jonathan Shulman
La Jolla Country Day School

Tomacine Crouch
Blue Ridge Juvenile Detention Center

Meaghan Rymer
River City Middle School

Clarke C. Scott
James Madison University, Pittsylvania County Schools